Lost Maurice Sendak picture book to be published next year

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

Lost Maurice Sendak picture book to be published next year

Jul 07 2017

An unpublished picture book by Maurice Sendak has been found hidden deep in his archives, five years after his death. The typewritten manuscript and illustrations, co-authored by Sendak’s longtime collaborator Arthur Yorinks, were discovered in Connecticut by Lynn Caponera, president of the Maurice Sendak Foundation. Caponera was Sendak's housekeeper, assistant and friend for many years.

Titled Presto and Zesto in Limboland, the illustrations were created in 1990 to accompany a London Symphony Orchestra performance of Leos Janacek’s Ríkadla, a 1927 composition that set Czech nursery rhymes to music.

Source: The Guardian

More News Stories

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.