Attempt to ban book backfires with 700 copies given away in the community

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

Attempt to ban book backfires with 700 copies given away in the community

Apr 28 2014

Earlier this year, the local school board in Meridian, Idaho, removed Sherman Alexie's The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian from the 10th grade curriculum following complaints by some parents.

Hundreds of students signed a petition to have the book returned. When Washington State residents, Sara Baker and Jennifer Lott, heard of the petition, they spearheaded a fundraising drive to purchase 350 copies of the novel.

Using the funds raised, Rediscovered Books in Boise bought the books and on World Book Night, Brady Kissel, a student from nearby Junior Mountain View High School, went to Kleiner Park in Meridian to distribute copies. Within an hour the police showed up having been called by someone concerned that teenagers were being giving copies of a book without their parent's permission. After talking with Kissel the police concluded that "they found nothing wrong with what was going on in the park."

Alexie's publisher, Little Brown, has donated a further 350 copies which will be distributed to local and school libraries, and teachers in need of classroom sets. Any remaining copies will be given away to the public.

Alexie, who in the past has said that sales of his books always spike when there is an attempt to ban any of them from the curriculum, wrote in an email to his publisher, "I am honored by the hundreds of Meridian students who showed incredible passion and courage for books....Mine, yes, but literature in general. And Sara Baker and Jennifer Lott are friggin' superheroes. If I ever get caught in a fire, I'm calling them."

More News Stories

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.