Supreme Court declines to review Amazon & Overstock's lawsuit about paying tax in New York state.

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

Supreme Court declines to review Amazon & Overstock's lawsuit about paying tax in New York state.

Dec 03 2013

The Supreme Court has declined to review the lawsuit by Amazon and Overstock challenging New York State's 2008 law requiring them to collect sales tax.

American Booksellers Association CEO Oren Teicher commented: "It's heartening that the U.S. Supreme Court's decision has put to rest any legal question as to a state's ability to collect sales tax on Internet sales. And while we continue to strongly support a federal solution to sales tax fairness, today's action makes clear that individual states can enact legislation to level the playing field."

Amazon repeatedly says it supports sales tax collection but only if federally mandated. The Senate passed such a bill earlier this year, but the House has not acted on it. Meanwhile, the company has fought state laws requiring collection of sales tax tooth and nail.

More News Stories

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...

Who Said...

Wherever they burn books, in the end will also burn human beings.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.