National Book Award Finalists announced

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

National Book Award Finalists announced

Oct 16 2013

The National Book Award finalists have been announced (with half of the titles coming from the newly formed Penguin Random House. The winners will be announced on November 20:

Fiction
Tenth of December, George Saunders (Random House)
The Lowland, Jhumpa Lahiri (Knopf)
Bleeding Edge, Thomas Pynchon (Penguin Press)
The Flamethrowers, Rachel Kushner (Scribner)
The Good Lord Bird, James McBride (Riverhead)

Nonfiction
Going Clear: Scientology, Hollywood, & the Prison of Belief, Lawrence Wright (Knopf)
The Unwinding: An Inner History of the New America, George Packer (FSG)
Book of Ages: The Life and Opinions of Jane Franklin, Jill Lepore (Knopf)
The Internal Enemy: Slavery and War in Virginia, 1772-1832, Alan Taylor (Norton)
Hitler's Furies: German Women in the Nazi Killing Fields, Wendy Lower (HMH)

Young People's Literature
Far Far Away, Tom McNeal (Knopf Children's)
The Thing About Luck, Cynthia Kadohata (Atheneum)
Boxers & Saints, Gene Luen Yang (First Second)
The True Blue Scouts of Sugar Man Swamp, Kathi Appelt (Atheneum)
Picture Me Gone, Meg Rosoff (Putnam Children's)

Poetry
Metaphysical Dog, Frank Bidart (FSG)
Incarnadine, Mary Szybist (Graywolf)
Black Aperture, Matt (Louisiana State University Press)
The Big Smoke, Adrian Matejka (Penguin)
Stay, Illusion, Lucie Brock-Broido (published 10/15) (Knopf)

More News Stories

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.