We Need New Names & Burial Rites in running for Guardian First Book award

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

We Need New Names & Burial Rites in running for Guardian First Book award

Aug 27 2013

The longlist for the Guardian First Book award has been released. The award is worth GBP10,000 (about US$15,600). The winner will be announced in November. The longlisted books are:

We Need New Names by NoViolet Bulawayo
Burial Rites by Hannah Kent
Kiss Me First by Lottie Moggah
The Spinning Heart by Donal Ryan
The Hive by Gill Hornby
Money: The Unauthorized Biography by Felix Martin
The Society of Timid Souls: Or, How to Be Brave by Polly Morland
Sex and the Citadel: Intimate Life in a Changing Arab World by Shereen El Feki
10 Billion by Stephen Emmott
The Examined Life: How We Lose and Find Ourselves by Stephen Grosz
The Shipwrecked House by Claire Trévien

Source: The Guardian

More News Stories

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.