We Need New Names & Burial Rites in running for Guardian First Book award

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

We Need New Names & Burial Rites in running for Guardian First Book award

Aug 27 2013

The longlist for the Guardian First Book award has been released. The award is worth GBP10,000 (about US$15,600). The winner will be announced in November. The longlisted books are:

We Need New Names by NoViolet Bulawayo
Burial Rites by Hannah Kent
Kiss Me First by Lottie Moggah
The Spinning Heart by Donal Ryan
The Hive by Gill Hornby
Money: The Unauthorized Biography by Felix Martin
The Society of Timid Souls: Or, How to Be Brave by Polly Morland
Sex and the Citadel: Intimate Life in a Changing Arab World by Shereen El Feki
10 Billion by Stephen Emmott
The Examined Life: How We Lose and Find Ourselves by Stephen Grosz
The Shipwrecked House by Claire Trévien

Source: The Guardian

More News Stories

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.