French project intends to fund digitization of half a million out of print books from 20th century

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

French project intends to fund digitization of half a million out of print books from 20th century

Mar 06 2012

A plan to digitize half a million "unavailable" books from the 20th century is drawing fire from authors - 900 of whom have signed a petition saying the scheme is an abuse of their intellectual property rights. Authors have the option to opt out of the program within six months.

The project, which is receiving initial government funding to the tune of 30 million Euros (in return for 40% of royalties), guarantees that at least 50 percent of royalties will go to publishers and authors. The scheme is interesting in part as it comes in the wake of the French government's opposition to Google's plans to digitize French books last year.

Note: Some articles on this topic will reference people being upset that the French government is being snobbish about the choice of books to be digitized. Although this may turn out to be the case in time, the initial furor appears to be over a simple mis-translation of the French word indisponsibles as indispensable, whereas the translation is closer to unavailable. What the French would call a faux amis - a false friend - a pair of words or prhases that look the same in two languages but differ in meaning.

More News Stories

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.