French project intends to fund digitization of half a million out of print books from 20th century

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

French project intends to fund digitization of half a million out of print books from 20th century

Mar 06 2012

A plan to digitize half a million "unavailable" books from the 20th century is drawing fire from authors - 900 of whom have signed a petition saying the scheme is an abuse of their intellectual property rights. Authors have the option to opt out of the program within six months.

The project, which is receiving initial government funding to the tune of 30 million Euros (in return for 40% of royalties), guarantees that at least 50 percent of royalties will go to publishers and authors. The scheme is interesting in part as it comes in the wake of the French government's opposition to Google's plans to digitize French books last year.

Note: Some articles on this topic will reference people being upset that the French government is being snobbish about the choice of books to be digitized. Although this may turn out to be the case in time, the initial furor appears to be over a simple mis-translation of the French word indisponsibles as indispensable, whereas the translation is closer to unavailable. What the French would call a faux amis - a false friend - a pair of words or prhases that look the same in two languages but differ in meaning.

More News Stories

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.