Amazon rumored to be opening bricks and mortar stores

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

Amazon rumored to be opening bricks and mortar stores

Feb 03 2012

There are mumblings in the blogosphere that Amazon is to open bricks and mortar stores. Launch.it offers four possible scenarios:

The first scenario: the store could just be a showroom with display units of appliances and "geniuses" running around showing you the top 25 vacuums in action. Or the top 10 juicers actually making juice.

Second, Amazon could keep small items like books, DVDs and electronics on site for instant gratification. If you like the pulp, you could buy a copy of a physical book and get an ebook sent to you.

Third, Amazon could entice you into the space with a physical library.

Fourth, if Amazon is pulling a Walmart and gearing up to make its own products, it would have even more leverage over pricing of top brand products. ...What if Amazon only keeps inventory at their stores of its own cheaper stuff, relegating your stuff to being only available for delivery? What's the consumer going to do: take the Amazon-branded stuff right now at 20% off or wait two days for a better product?

More News Stories

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.