Amazon to enter Indian market

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

Amazon to enter Indian market

Jul 26 2011

Amazon is in discussion with e-commerce companies in India in a bid to expand into one of the world's fastest-growing economies. However a source talking to the Times of India says, "Indian players see the huge potential in the e-commerce segment here and so have so far been resistant to being bought out easily."

If Amazon cannot find an established player to buy it will likely launch an Amazon branded site - which would be their seventh country specific site after Canada, China, France, Germany, Italy, Japan and the United Kingdom. Amazon is already setting up a warehouse in Mumbai (Bombay) and recently bought a large chunk of land in Chennai (Madras).

More News Stories

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.