California State Assembly passes internet sales tax bill

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

California State Assembly passes internet sales tax bill

Jun 02 2011

Earlier this week, the California State Assembly followed a number of other states in passing a bill "aimed at closing a legal loophole that allows internet retailers to avoid collecting California sales taxes on purchases made via computer.

The state and local governments are losing an estimated $1.1 billion in annual revenues because of untaxed Internet sales, proponents contend.

The bill addresses an exemption carved out by a decades-old U.S. Supreme Court ruling that frees retailers from having to collect state sales taxes on purchases as long as they do not have any physical presence in the state. The bill would reinterpret California law to consider the presence of related companies (including affiliates) as sufficient to require that sales taxes be collected.

The measure will now be sent to the Senate.

More News Stories

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.