Amazon, the SEC, IRS and South Carolina

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

Amazon, the SEC, IRS and South Carolina

May 02 2011

In a regulatory filing Wednesday, Amazon said the Securities and Exchange Commission is looking into its sales tax dispute with Texas. The standoff began last September when the state assessed $269 million from Amazon in uncollected sales tax, interest and penalties for the four years to December 2009. Amazon has since threatened to pull its warehouse operations out of Texas

Amazon has another problem on its hands - the Internal Revenue Service recently sent 'Notices of Proposed Adjustment' for 2005 and 2006 relating to the company's 'transfer pricing' with its foreign subsidiaries. The IRS is proposing to increase Amazon's U.S. taxable income for the seven years starting 2005 by about $1.5 billion.

Amazon have also dropped their plans to build a distribution center in South Carolina' after the state's House of Representatives voted against giving Amazon a sales tax incentive.

More News Stories

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.