Blogger proposes strike against Huffington Post

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

Blogger proposes strike against Huffington Post

Mar 03 2011

Following The Huffington Post's purchase by AOL for $315m, Visual Art Source publisher Bill Lasarow has stopped posting his publication's content on The Huffington Post and called for a strike by other writers contributing articles for free until The Huff Post establishes a pay schedule for contributor's work and clearly separates paid promotional material from editorial content.

March 4 Update: Arianna Huffington responds saying that to blog on The Huffington Post is like going on the "Today" show; and that The Huff Post employs 183 paid journalists who are assigned stories and asked to work overtime when major events occur; whereas bloggers don't have these responsibilities - in short, "It’s just absurd for me to compare the two."

Source: TheWrap.com

More News Stories

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.