Edmund de Waal leads Costa book awards finalists

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

Edmund de Waal leads Costa book awards finalists

Jan 05 2011

Best-selling novelist Maggie O'Farrell has won her first major literary prize, the British Costa novel award, for The Hand That First Held Mine putting her in the running for the Book of the Year Award which will be announced January 25.

The four other books in the running are Out of the Shadows by debut writer Jason Wallace (children's novel award), poet Jo Shapcott for Of Mutability, novelist Kishwar Desai for Witness The Night (first novel prize) and biographer Edmund de Waal for The Hare with the Amber Eyes. De Waal's memoir of family and inheritance, which bookmakers favor to win, uses 264 delicate Japanese carvings to tell the extraordinary story of his family living through tumultuous events in Paris and Vienna.

Information on three of the five Costa winners can be found at BookBrowse (the other two books are not yet published in the US)

Source: The Guardian

More News Stories

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.