Edmund de Waal leads Costa book awards finalists

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

Edmund de Waal leads Costa book awards finalists

Jan 05 2011

Best-selling novelist Maggie O'Farrell has won her first major literary prize, the British Costa novel award, for The Hand That First Held Mine putting her in the running for the Book of the Year Award which will be announced January 25.

The four other books in the running are Out of the Shadows by debut writer Jason Wallace (children's novel award), poet Jo Shapcott for Of Mutability, novelist Kishwar Desai for Witness The Night (first novel prize) and biographer Edmund de Waal for The Hare with the Amber Eyes. De Waal's memoir of family and inheritance, which bookmakers favor to win, uses 264 delicate Japanese carvings to tell the extraordinary story of his family living through tumultuous events in Paris and Vienna.

Information on three of the five Costa winners can be found at BookBrowse (the other two books are not yet published in the US)

Source: The Guardian

More News Stories

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.