Edmund de Waal leads Costa book awards finalists

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

Edmund de Waal leads Costa book awards finalists

Jan 05 2011

Best-selling novelist Maggie O'Farrell has won her first major literary prize, the British Costa novel award, for The Hand That First Held Mine putting her in the running for the Book of the Year Award which will be announced January 25.

The four other books in the running are Out of the Shadows by debut writer Jason Wallace (children's novel award), poet Jo Shapcott for Of Mutability, novelist Kishwar Desai for Witness The Night (first novel prize) and biographer Edmund de Waal for The Hare with the Amber Eyes. De Waal's memoir of family and inheritance, which bookmakers favor to win, uses 264 delicate Japanese carvings to tell the extraordinary story of his family living through tumultuous events in Paris and Vienna.

Information on three of the five Costa winners can be found at BookBrowse (the other two books are not yet published in the US)

Source: The Guardian

More News Stories

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.