Wall Street Journal blames Justice Department for Amazon-Hachette dispute

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

Wall Street Journal blames Justice Department for Amazon-Hachette dispute

Jun 03 2014

Writing in the Wall Street Journal, former WSJ publisher L. Gordon Crovitz, calls the current dispute between Amazon and Hachette "the legacy of the Justice Department's doing Amazon's bidding and strange closeness with the Seattle e-tailer."

Crovitz goes on to criticize Judge Denise Cote saying, "In ruling against Apple, Judge Cote assured that her ruling would 'restore competition' in the e-book market. Instead, Amazon's market share has soared as Barnes & Noble pulled back on its Nook, while Sony and Samsung exited the e-reader market.... Some book authors want the Justice Department to go after Amazon now, but a better approach would be to get out of the way. Given Judge Cote's shaky antitrust reasoning, there's a good chance the appeals court will reverse her ruling. Amazon, Apple and book publishers would then have the open market to determine whether retailers and book publishers ultimately use the wholesale or agency model--or both."

More News Stories

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.