Three-quarters of US public libraries offer e-book lending services but half of patrons who own e-book readers do not know that their library loans e-books

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

Three-quarters of US public libraries offer e-book lending services but half of patrons who own e-book readers do not know that their library loans e-books

Jun 22 2012

While three-quarters of USA public libraries now offer e-book lending services, a new survey shows that while 58% of respondents have a library card and 69% consider the library important to them and their family only 12% had borrowed an e-book from a library during the previous year.

Overall, 62% did not know whether their library offered e-book lending. Of those who had a library card, 58% did not know if their library provides e-book lending services. Even among those who own a tablet or e-book reading device, about half did not know if their library lends e-books.

More News Stories

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.