Popular authors increase output, some doubling to two books a year, to meet insatiable ebook demand

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

Popular authors increase output, some doubling to two books a year, to meet insatiable ebook demand

May 14 2012

Pity the poor authors in the days of the ebook. Whereas popular authors such as Lisa Scottoline used to produce one book a year, now they are writing two; while others such as Lee Child are churning out short stories in between novels in an attempt to satisfy their fans' demands for more output, lest the fans get bored waiting for the next work and go off and find a new favorite. Meanwhile, James Patterson is producing a dozen or more books each year, about half of which are co-written.

All this at the same time as the internet has changed readers' expectations that they'll be able to hear personally from their favorite authors via blogs, Twitter and Facebook updates.

Would reclusive authors such as J.D. Salinger and Harper Lee be able to gain traction in today's market? Many publishers say no - that what once would have created an aura of intrigue around an author, is not a viable option in the age of interconnectivity.

More News Stories

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.