BookBrowse Reviews The Hundred-Year House by Rebecca Makkai

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Hundred-Year House

by Rebecca Makkai

The Hundred-Year House
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jul 2014, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2015, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Sacha Dollacker

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Exploring the relevance of art and the importance of second chances, The Hundred-Year House is a puzzle that is worth unraveling.

Rebecca Makkai's sophomore novel The Hundred-Year House could just have easily been titled House of a Hundred Secrets. The story centers on Laurelfield, a country estate in Chicago's North Shore, and is set in three time periods — 1999, 1956, and 1929 — in that order.

Though the novel starts in 1999, the true story of Laurelfield begins in 1900 when August Devohr built the house for his wife Violet, who shortly thereafter killed herself in its attic. Violet's beauty and sadness, coupled with her enigmatic death infuses the house with mystery. This sort of drama is not uncommon in the Devohr family, whose insanity, irresponsibility with money, and penchant for divorce is widely known. By the 1920s, the Devohrs leave Laurelfield and relegate it to artists, making the estate a refuge for writers and painters. However, by the late 1950s, Laurelfield has again ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Yaddo Artists' Retreat

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.