BookBrowse Reviews Dirt Bikes, Drones, and Other Ways to Fly by Conrad Wesselhoeft

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Dirt Bikes, Drones, and Other Ways to Fly

by Conrad Wesselhoeft

Dirt Bikes, Drones, and Other Ways to Fly
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Apr 2014, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2015, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Tamara Smith

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

This brilliant YA novel explores the very grown-up struggle between choosing what you want to do versus what you have to do.

Seventeen-year-old Arlo Santiago wants to break free – to fly. And it's no wonder he feels that way. There is much in his life that weighs him down. Five months ago, his mother was shot and killed in a hold-up at the local market where he lives in New Mexico. His father is out of work and drinking too much. And his sister, Siouxsie, has just been diagnosed with Huntington's Disease. Conrad Wesselhoeft's title says it all. Dirt Bikes, Drones and Other Ways to Fly. Arlo is obsessed with a video game called "Drone Pilot" which simulates drone flight. He is also constantly pulling stunts on his dirt bike. Yes, Arlo wants to fly. And, in these ways, he does.

Conrad Wesselhoeft knows Arlo. He knows his pain – a mix of grief for his mother and responsibility for his family. He knows his philosophy – a sense of true connection with the world. Wesselhoeft also knows how to craft...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Conrad Wesselhoeft

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.