BookBrowse Reviews Love and Treasure by Ayelet Waldman

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Love and Treasure

by Ayelet Waldman

Love and Treasure
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2014, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2015, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lucy Rock

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

With one precious necklace as anchor, Love and Treasure explores a vital part of Holocaust history without resorting to gratuitous violence or melodrama.

Grainy photographs of tormented prisoners and piles of skeletal corpses often dominate modern memory of the Holocaust — a tragedy of unimaginable depth not just for the Jews of Europe but for the entire world. Most of us are all too familiar with the stories of suffering that pepper the first half of the 20th century. It is therefore hugely refreshing when we can glance out of our sphere of knowledge and look at this history from an entirely different angle.

A fresh perspective is precisely what author Ayelet Waldman has given us in Love and Treasure. The year is 1945. In a war-torn corner of Austria, Jack Wiseman and his fellow American GIs stumble across a freight train bound for Hungary filled with jewels and furs down to the most humble of worldly possessions — all items stolen from murdered Hungarian Jews.

Rather stereotypically, caught up in this great tragedy is ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  The Hungarian Gold Train

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.