BookBrowse Reviews Astoria by Peter Stark

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Astoria

John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Story of Wealth, Ambition, and Survival

by Peter Stark

Astoria
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2014, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2015, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Vivid in details and seeped in the history of the time, this brilliant account of the colonization of the American West is an exemplary addition to the canon of non-fiction.

In 1784, twenty-one-year-old John Jacob Astor left his home in Walldorf, Germany and came to the fledgling United States to make his fortune in an unknown land. He quickly became aware of the vast sums to be made trading animal furs and established a company based on that knowledge, bartering with Native Americans and trappers. As a result, by the turn of the century, he became one of the most influential and affluent men in the United States. A canny businessman, Astor was conscious of the massive untapped potential of the west coast, and developed a plan with the support of President Thomas Jefferson to stake a claim to the area's wealth: He would send two parties, one via sea and the other over land, to the mouth of the Columbia River (in what is now Oregon - see 'Beyond the Book') to set up a large fur trading post, with the overland party also establishing a series of posts ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  The Columbia River

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.