BookBrowse Reviews Family Life by Akhil Sharma

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Family Life

by Akhil Sharma

Family Life
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Apr 2014, 224 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2015, 224 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Heart-wrenching and darkly funny, Akhil Sharma's highly anticipated second novel, Family Life, is a story of a boy coming of age in the midst of a terrible family tragedy.

In the 70s when author Akhil Sharma was just eight, his family emigrated to the United States. For a while it looked like the American dream was well within reach, but then tragedy struck: a diving accident in a swimming pool left Sharma's older brother permanently brain-damaged. This real-life incident forms the central thread of Sharma's elegiac new novel, Family Life. It movingly explores how an immense tragedy's after-effects – right from the searing immediate pain to the dull lingering long-term ache – can change and sculpt family dynamics.

Narrated by the fictional Ajay Mishra, the younger of the two sons in the nuclear family, Family Life opens in the India of the 70s, specifically in New Delhi. Dazzled by the scientific prowess of the West, the elder Mishra decides that the family needs to emigrate to America – mainly to give his boys every opportunity at ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Iselin, New Jersey: The Ethnoburb

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.