BookBrowse Reviews The Martian by Andy Weir

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Martian

by Andy Weir

The Martian
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2014, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2014, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Featuring a fun spin on the classic castaway story and an irreverent protagonist, this debut is sure to be a hit with fans of well-paced adventure narratives.

Andy Weir's first novel, The Martian, can be briefly described as "Robinson Crusoe on Mars." Weir's hero, astronaut Mark Watney, is abandoned on the planet when his teammates leave him behind, believing he has died in the catastrophe that has forced their evacuation. Injured and reliant on marginally functional equipment and meager food supplies, Watney refuses to give up and uses his skill and ingenuity to work out a way to survive.

Much of the narrative consists of entries from a log Watney keeps, written to document his endeavors for future explorers. Riddled with profanity and a dry sense of humor, the short, snappy paragraphs allow readers to really get a feel for this funny, irreverent and marvelously inventive protagonist. He's the smart-alecky, slightly bad-boy kind of hero one can't help but root for – a cross between TV's resourceful MacGyver and Chris Pine's Captain ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Mars, the Red Planet

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.