BookBrowse Reviews The Orchard of Lost Souls by Nadifa Mohamed

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Orchard of Lost Souls

by Nadifa Mohamed

The Orchard of Lost Souls
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2014, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2015, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lucy Rock

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


The beginnings of Somalia's civil war frame a vivid background for The Orchard of Lost Souls, which movingly focuses on the lives of three memorable Somali women.

Following her debut Black Mamba Boy, Somali writer Nadifa Mohamed's stirring second novel delicately weaves the fragile lives of three generations of women together as their beloved country plunges into civil war.

Looking at Somalia from the comfort of our living rooms, this beleaguered, battered state will strike many of us as terrifying, a place almost entirely closed to outsiders. An awareness of skewed politics and disease-ridden refugee camps might indeed be all we have experienced. For the most part our knowledge of ordinary Somali people is therefore limited and of its women, even less. Therefore any opportunity to gain even a smidgen of understanding is invaluable.

Despite having left the country with her family at the tender age of four, in The Orchard of Lost Souls, Mohamed manages an uncannily authentic portrayal of the dawning of a conflict that shattered the existence ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.