BookBrowse Reviews In the Memorial Room by Janet Frame

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

In the Memorial Room

by Janet Frame

In the Memorial Room
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Dec 2013, 208 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2014, 208 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Suzanne Reeder

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Published posthumously, In the Memorial Room is a sharp sendup of hero worship while emphasizing larger, more soulful themes such as aging and regret.

As a Katherine Mansfield fellow in 1974, the acclaimed New Zealand writer Janet Frame lived and worked in Menton, France. Drawing from these experiences, she wrote In the Memorial Room, a strange and wickedly funny novel that satirizes hero worship of a dead, iconic writer.

Frame would not allow it to be published during her lifetime, perhaps fearing certain people would recognize themselves in her unflattering portrayals. She went on to write several other books and died in 2004 at the age of 79.

Frame left In the Memorial Room to be published posthumously. In the novel, a 33-year-old historical fiction writer named Harry Gill is Janet Frame's equivalent. The exalted dead writer for whom the fellowship is awarded is an internationally known poet, the fictional Margaret Rose Hurndell. And the award itself is called the "Watercress-Armstrong Fellowship," named for its two principal ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.