BookBrowse Reviews Jeeves and the Wedding Bells by Sebastian Faulks

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Jeeves and the Wedding Bells

by Sebastian Faulks

Jeeves and the Wedding Bells
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Nov 2013, 256 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2014, 256 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

In Jeeves and the Wedding Bells, acclaimed novelist Sebastian Faulks brings Bertie and Jeeves back for their legion of fans in a hilarious affair of mix-ups and mishaps.

If nothing else, one has to hand Sebastian Faulks this: he is an incredibly brave writer. Imagine if you will, millions of Harry Potter fans eagerly awaiting a new Hogwarts adventure. Now visualize it being written by someone other than J.K. Rowling. I can't see P.G. Wodehouse fans acting as rabid as Rowling's, but still, this gives you a pretty good idea of the terrain Sebastian Faulks has walked into with his new book, Jeeves and the Wedding Bells. The legendary comic writer English P. G. Wodehouse has thousands upon thousands of adoring fans, and his Wooster and Jeeves series is a signature example of his style. English gentleman Bertram (Bertie) Wooster, and his brainy valet Jeeves have had many adventures together, typically involving Jeeves extricating Bertie out of some pickle.

Wodehouse died in 1975, but his popularity endures. I count myself as one of his most ardent fans, ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Reading Wodehouse in Mumbai

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.