BookBrowse Reviews The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Lowland

by Jhumpa Lahiri

The Lowland
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2013, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2014, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


The Lowland is a family saga of two brothers — a story steeped in history that spans generations and geographies.

A single event can dramatically alter the emotional landscape of the people it affects. The Doppler wave that it creates radiates outward in endless patterns, colliding with new people and circumstances generations down the line, irrevocably shaping them in sometimes minute – but not insignificant – ways. This is the basis for Jhumpa Lahiri's haunting and powerful The Lowland.

Set mostly in Rhode Island and India (specifically in Kolkata), the story revolves around the Mitra brothers, Subhash and Udayan, born fifteen months apart. It is the late '60s, a time of turmoil in their native state of West Bengal. The brothers come of age when the Naxalbari movement serves as a catalyst for the growth of communism in the region (see Beyond the Book). Subhash, the older brother, is reliable, less likely to cause trouble. It is the more daring Udayan who is drawn into the movement ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  The Naxalites in India

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.