BookBrowse Reviews The Explanation for Everything by Lauren Grodstein

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Explanation for Everything

by Lauren Grodstein

The Explanation for Everything
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2013, 372 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2014, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

In The Explanation for Everything Lauren Grodstein creates a fiercely intelligent story about the permeable line between faith and doubt.

It is, arguably, one of the most divisive issues of our time: the role of religion in society. Especially these days, with the boundaries between religion and politics becoming ever more porous, the battle lines have been drawn even more clearly. In The Explanation for Everything Lauren Grodstein tackles this issue with empathy and grace leading the reader to question pre-established assumptions about what the "other side" truly believes.

Biology professor Andrew Waite is having a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad year. His tenure at a small New Jersey liberal arts college seems only a remote possibility. His lab mice are not yielding the results he would like. His preteen daughters are growing up way too fast. And more than three years after her death, he still misses his wife, Louisa, terribly. Years ago, Waite, a native Midwesterner, received a schooling in more ways than one ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  The Scopes Trial

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.