BookBrowse Reviews Love Is Power, or Something Like That by A. Igoni Barrett

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Love Is Power, or Something Like That

Stories

by A. Igoni Barrett

Love Is Power, or Something Like That
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    May 2013, 176 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Christian Tubau

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Set in contemporary Nigeria, this searing collection of short stories beautifully sheds light on the human condition

Award-winning author A. Igoni Barrett's Love Is Power, or Something Like That is without a doubt, a very original, surprising and captivating collection of short stories.

Born in Port Harcourt, Nigeria, in 1979, Barrett draws an enlightened portrait of the current reality of his country. The stories offer an unprejudiced view close to the street, and include references to contemporary elements such as cell phones, the Internet and modern music.

The essence of the book is folded – as in a Chinese fan – in the bold and suggestive title: Love Is Power and more precisely within the second part, Or Something Like That. Traveling with the characters through adventures and mishaps, the reader soon realizes that these are not conventional love stories – and that nobody really knows what love is.

This is apparent because of the clearly unsentimental voices of the ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.