BookBrowse Reviews Blasphemy by Sherman Alexie

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Blasphemy

New and Selected Stories

by Sherman Alexie

Blasphemy
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Oct 2012, 480 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2013, 480 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Elizabeth Whitmore Funk

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

A variety of short stories from Sherman Alexie shows his enormous range and serves as a great introduction to this native American author.

I first heard of Sherman Alexie years ago, in college when a fellow undergraduate completed an independent study on his work. This was in the heyday of Ten Little Indians, before the success of Alexie's young adult novel The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian. I read Ten Little Indians with pleasure, and then the dark mystery, Indian Killer, but I wasn't consumed with the Sherman Alexie fever that plagued my classmate. Today, Alexie is known as a Native American writer who writes poetry, YA novels, short stories and adult fiction with his trademark laugh-out-loud humor and deft handling of controversial issues surrounding race, sex, violence, and substance abuse. Blasphemy demonstrates the range of his talent, and has made me a late inductee to the Alexie fan brigade. The collection contains both established Alexie favorites, such as "The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in ...

Additional Information

For a conversation with Sherman Alexie, click on the video below recorded in 2009 by BigThink.com:



Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.