BookBrowse Reviews Enchanted by Alethea Kontis

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Enchanted

by Alethea Kontis

Enchanted
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2012, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2013, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

A mash-up fairy tale in which one girl's creative writing comes to life, Ages 12 +

The fairy tale "mash-up" genre - in which multiple fairy tale stories, themes, or characters are combined into one new and original tale - can be delightful when it's done well or derivative when it's done carelessly. When it's done playfully and inventively - as it is in Alethea Kontis's novel, Enchanted - the results can be simply, well, enchanting.

Sunday Woodcutter is the seventh daughter born to her parents - who are each a seventh son and a seventh daughter respectively - and so, as any fairy tale aficionado could tell you, she is destined for great things. However, Sunday - who tends to look at the world through less rosy lenses - sees things differently: "I am doomed to a happy life," she writes in the novel's opening sentence. With six older sisters (Monday through Saturday, of course) whose dramas overshadow her own quiet talents, it's easy for Sunday to feel that she's ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Andrew Lang's Fairy Books

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.