BookBrowse Reviews Tiger, Tiger by Margaux Fragoso

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Tiger, Tiger

A Memoir

by Margaux Fragoso

Tiger, Tiger
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2011, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2012, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Beverly Melven

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

An extraordinary memoir of a young girl surviving the unthinkable

I've said before that I am fascinated by what makes people tick. Some people want to understand cold fusion, dark matter, or internal combustion. I want to understand the motives of humans. It was that interest that caused me to read Tiger, Tiger - the first-person account of a young girl who spent 14 years under the special attention of a pedophile. Her parents suspected, but ultimately did not interfere.

Fragoso tells her story very matter-of-fact. She doesn't read into other people's motives, she tells what she remembers and what she experienced, and leaves it to the reader to draw their own conclusions. And she resists the urge to editorialize after-the-fact, she doesn't diagnose or excuse or browbeat the characters of her past, she tells the events as she experienced them as a child, not as she has (obviously) come to understand them as an adult.

This book is ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Treating Pedophiles

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.