BookBrowse Reviews The Life and Opinions of Maf the Dog, and of His Friend Marilyn Monroe by Andrew O'Hagan

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Life and Opinions of Maf the Dog, and of His Friend Marilyn Monroe

by Andrew O'Hagan

The Life and Opinions of Maf the Dog, and of His Friend Marilyn Monroe
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Dec 2010, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2011, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Sacha Dollacker

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

An original portrait of the woman behind the icon, and the dog behind the woman

If servants write the best novels, as Andrew O'Hagan observes in his tragi-comedy The Life and Opinions of Maf the Dog, and of his Friend Marilyn Monroe, then a dog, the most loyal of servants, would write the best novel of all. Mafia Honey, or Maf for short--philosopher, champion of the footnote, Socialist, and Trotskyite--does not fall short of the mark. Maf is a loyal servant, but he is not a sycophant, and the view from his rug-level perspective is intensely real. As he discusses the lives and loves of humans, along with the occasional philosophical diversion, with other dogs he meets, one begins to wonder if all household dogs are actually watching their human friends with such a critical eye.

Indeed, this picaresque novel has the feel of a memoir as Maf describes his experiences with Marilyn Monroe and his impressions of Natalie Wood, Frank Sinatra, and others &...

Interesting Link: Andrew O'Hagan's explores the myth and the mystery of Marilyn Monroe in The Guardian.

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Real Dogs Portrayed in Fiction

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.