BookBrowse Reviews Bury Your Dead by Louise Penny

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Bury Your Dead

A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel, #6

by Louise Penny

Bury Your Dead
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2010, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2011, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

A multi-layered mystery set in Quebec, the 6th installment in a much-loved series

Bury Your Dead was a hit with our First Impressions readers, garnering thumbs up from all 23 of them. Here's what some of them had to say:

Author Louise Penny has hit a new high with Bury Your Dead. Always strong in character development, in this book she also proves to be a skillful storyteller, with an intricate plot that comes together beautifully at the end (Karen L). It follows Gamache and his second in command, Inspector Jean Guy Beauvoir, as they recover physically and psychologically from a terrorist threat that has left four agents of the Homicide Division of the Surete du Quebec dead (Nona F). She crafts an engaging story interweaving their recent tragedy with the investigations of two murders, the history of Quebec's founding by Samuel De Champlain, the continuing centuries-old divisiveness and mistrust between the Anglos and French in Quebec, and vivid descriptions of ...

A note on the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache series:
Penny provides sufficient background for the case from The Brutal Telling to allow new readers to follow Inspector Beauvoir's case, but those who have enjoyed the previous investigations of Gamache, his team, and the denizens of Three Pines will feel the greatest satisfaction and emotional impact from reading Bury Your Dead. Readers would be well rewarded by reading some prior books in the series, especially The Brutal Telling, before embarking on this excellent novel (Nona F).

Series to date

  1. Still Life (2005)
  2. Dead Cold (2006) aka A Fatal Grace
  3. The Cruellest Month (2007)
  4. The Murder Stone (2008) aka A Rule Against Murder
  5. The Brutal Telling (2009)
  6. Bury Your Dead (2010)
  7. A Trick of the Light (2011)

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.