BookBrowse Reviews The Dark Days of Hamburger Halpin by Josh Berk

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Dark Days of Hamburger Halpin

by Josh Berk

The Dark Days of Hamburger Halpin
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2010, 256 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2011, 256 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Tamara Smith

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A part coming-of age-story, part mystery, and part social satire for young adults starring a winning Hardy Boys-goes-nerdy duo

Will Halpin, the central character in Josh Berk's debut novel The Dark Days of Hamburger Halpin, is a perfect example of an unreliable narrator for one simple reason: he's deaf. The reader literally hears only what Will hears - or more accurately, we only read what he lip-reads - and he misses words here and there. For instance, this is what Will lip-reads from his history teacher one day: "How did you (something something) the reading? Was there anything (something something) found interesting? Didn't any of you (something) the reading at all?" Will misses a lot. But Josh Berk does an amazing job of making Will immediately likeable anyway. He is witty, smart, self-deprecating in an endearing way, and he has just made the choice to switch from attending a deaf school to his local public school. The combination of these traits and the vulnerability of his situation makes us want to trust ...

Recommended for ages 12 & up.

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  The History of The Hardy Boys

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.