BookBrowse Reviews Point Omega by Don DeLillo

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Point Omega

A Novel

by Don DeLillo

Point Omega
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2010, 128 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2010, 128 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Amy Reading

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

A novella from the author of White Noise and Underworld

I opened this book with some trepidation. I have been an ardent fan of Don DeLillo since college when White Noise first showed me what literature could make of our media-saturated age. Underworld felt like an enormous gift and I never wanted its 827 pages to end. But then something happened, and DeLillo's novels got a lot shorter and a lot less satisfying. The Body Artist was puzzling and vaguely mortifying. Cosmopolis was downright awful. I couldn't bring myself to read Falling Man.

So I'm glad to report that Point Omega is a pleasure, if a fleeting one. Truth be told, at 117 pages, it feels a little long. This is an aerated novel that wants to be a condensed, stylized short story, or maybe even a play. There is no real action in the book. In fact, its one dramatic event is a heavily outlined non-event. The characters move about the rooms of a small house as if in a masque, ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.