BookBrowse Reviews The Coral Thief by Rebecca Stott

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Coral Thief

by Rebecca Stott

The Coral Thief
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2009, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2010, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Sacha Dollacker

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

A historical novel set against the backdrop of post-Revolutionary France

The Coral Thief is an epic tale of change, love, and science set against the backdrop of post-Revolutionary France. Napoleon has just been deposed, and France is wrestling with an identity crisis. Will the values of the revolution - independence, freedom, brotherhood - take pre-eminence, or will the country revert to its monarchial tradition? Alongside these philosophical and political debates, similar ones are being waged in the realm of science. Are species static, non-changing, much like the centuries-old tradition of kingship, or do animals change to adapt to their environments, similar to the idealistic revolutionaries? Wide-eyed and anxious to learn, Daniel Connor travels from staid Edinburgh to the hotbed of Paris, the center of the political, philosophical, and scientific debates that will effect change across Europe. In his purse he ...

About the Author
Rebecca StottRebecca Stott was born in Cambridge, England in 1964 and attended the Hove High School for Girls before studying English and Art History at York University, where she also earned her M.A. and Ph.d. The Coral Thief is her second work of fiction after the critically-acclaimed Ghostwalk, a novel set in Cambridge. In addition to her novels, Rebecca is the author of several academic works on Victorian literature and culture, two books of nonfiction, a biography of Charles Darwin and a cultural history of the oyster. She currently works as a Professor of English Literature and Creative Writing at the University of East Anglia in Norwich, England for half of the year. The other half is spent as a freelance writer and broadcaster. She is currently working on a nonfiction book about the first evolutionists, the heretics and infidels behind The Coral Thief, and a historical novel...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.