BookBrowse Reviews Sweeping Up Glass by Carolyn Wall

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Sweeping Up Glass

by Carolyn Wall

Sweeping Up Glass
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2008, 278 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2009, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

A tough and tender debut novel set in Depression-era Kentucky

Fifty-three BookBrowse members reviewed this book, with forty-seven rating it 4 or 5 out of 5 stars – one of our highest First Impressions ratings to date. This is what they say…
Sweeping Up Glass definitely 'swept me up' from the very first page (Linda G). Set in 1938 rural Kentucky, the novel is narrated by Olivia Cross, a woman of strong character and a life full of hard work and incredible loss. As the story goes back in time, we learn more about Olivia and the people that inhabit this small community during the coldest winter on record (Beth P). The book presents a true picture of life in the south during the Depression, but it's more than just a picture of the South. It's a mystery and a deep look into Olivia's life and thoughts. It isn't a page turner like many mysteries - instead it offers a slow immersion into Olivia's thoughts and daily life (Susan R).

You will...

Judging books by readers, not covers
Sweeping Up Glass was originally published by independent publisher Poisoned Pen Press in August, 2008. Poisoned Pen received such overwhelming raves from their pre-publication readers that they sold the rights to Bantam (a division of Random House) before the book went to press. Poisoned Pen retained the rights to publish 1000 copies of a special hardcover edition, with their original cover design (shown left). Specializing in mysteries, they had marketed the book as such, but when Bantam bought the book, they redesigned the cover, and presented the paperback edition as a literary novel, with suspenseful undercurrents.

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.