BookBrowse Reviews The King's Rifle by Biyi Bandele

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The King's Rifle

A Novel

by Biyi Bandele

The King's Rifle
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Apr 2009, 224 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

A powerful first novel that depicts the experiences of black African soldiers fighting in Burma in WWII

The King's Rifle has a rather disjointed beginning that readers may find off-putting. It begins with a prologue that, while based on fact and relevant to the history of the Chindits, has little to do with the rest of the novel. The two or three chapters that follow strike the reader as somewhat rambling, with the narrative touching on multiple subjects, stream-of-consciousness style. It's a disorderly approach, and readers may have difficulty orienting themselves at first. It is worth persevering, however, as those who read on will discover both an exceptional historical fiction novel and a powerful coming-of-age story.

Bandele's background as a playwright is evident throughout the book. Indeed, much of the novel reads like a play. Most of the action is advanced through dialogue, and readers come to know "soja" Ali Banana and his cohorts through their inner musings...

About the Author
Biyi Bandele is an award-winning novelist, playwright, and director. He was born in Kafachan, Nigeria, in 1967, the son of a veteran of the Burma campaign. In 2006 he was named by the UK newspaper The Independent as one of Africa's fifty greatest artists. He lives in London.


External links & sources:

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.