BookBrowse Reviews The Life You Can Save by Peter Singer

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Life You Can Save

Acting Now to End World Poverty

by Peter Singer

The Life You Can Save
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2009, 224 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2010, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jo Perry

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

'This is the right time to ask yourself: What should I be doing to help?'

The Life You Can Save is about the billions of people starving, suffering, and dying because of poverty and how we can and should help them without suffering ourselves.

Singer's focus is the people who live in extreme poverty as the World Bank defines it:

Those ... "not having enough income to meet the most basic human needs for adequate food, water, shelter, clothing, sanitation, health care or education ... The number of people whose income puts them under this poverty line [of living under $1.25 a day] is ...1.4 billion ..."

If people could be counted on to react to his alarming statistics and descriptions of unnecessary suffering and death with a sense of urgency and generosity, Singer could have written a pamphlet or relied on his website to present statistics on world poverty, outline his formulae for ethical giving, and provide links to organizations ...


*An obstetric fistula is a severe medical condition in which a hole (fistula) develops between either the bladder and the vagina or the rectum and the vagina, as a result of a difficult childbirth or other trauma such as rape or gynecological cancer.  Now uncommon in the developed world due to improvements in obstetrical care, obstetric fistulas are still a significant problem in the developing world.  Those who have read Abraham Verghese's Cutting For Stone, in which one of the characters makes a name for himself through his innovative treatments of obstetric fistulas in Ethiopian women, will be familiar with the social stigma that comes with this painful and debilitating condition.

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.