BookBrowse Reviews The Life You Can Save by Peter Singer

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Life You Can Save

Acting Now to End World Poverty

by Peter Singer

The Life You Can Save
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2009, 224 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2010, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jo Perry

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


'This is the right time to ask yourself: What should I be doing to help?'

The Life You Can Save is about the billions of people starving, suffering, and dying because of poverty and how we can and should help them without suffering ourselves.

Singer's focus is the people who live in extreme poverty as the World Bank defines it:

Those ... "not having enough income to meet the most basic human needs for adequate food, water, shelter, clothing, sanitation, health care or education ... The number of people whose income puts them under this poverty line [of living under $1.25 a day] is ...1.4 billion ..."

If people could be counted on to react to his alarming statistics and descriptions of unnecessary suffering and death with a sense of urgency and generosity, Singer could have written a pamphlet or relied on his website to present statistics on world poverty, outline his formulae for ethical giving, and provide links to organizations ...


*An obstetric fistula is a severe medical condition in which a hole (fistula) develops between either the bladder and the vagina or the rectum and the vagina, as a result of a difficult childbirth or other trauma such as rape or gynecological cancer.  Now uncommon in the developed world due to improvements in obstetrical care, obstetric fistulas are still a significant problem in the developing world.  Those who have read Abraham Verghese's Cutting For Stone, in which one of the characters makes a name for himself through his innovative treatments of obstetric fistulas in Ethiopian women, will be familiar with the social stigma that comes with this painful and debilitating condition.

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.