BookBrowse Reviews Random Acts of Heroic Love by Danny Scheinmann

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Random Acts of Heroic Love

by Danny Scheinmann

Random Acts of Heroic Love
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Jan 2009, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Vy Armour

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

A dramatic portrait of two apparently unconnected epic love stories

After reading Random Acts of Heroic Love, it's easy to understand why it was chosen as a Richard and Judy Book Club pick (Britain's equivalent of an Oprah Book Club pick).  Two intense love stories are told from male viewpoints, each one inspired by events in author Danny Scheinmann's life and family history.  Leo's story (1992) is told in third person and Moritz's story (1918) is a first-person narration.  The stories are told in alternating chapters with two distinct voices, and twine together as the novel seeks answers to difficult questions about love and loss.

The contemporary love story takes place when Leo, age 25, loses Elini, the love of his young life, in a bus crash.  Although Leo was with her, he has no recollection of the event.  However, as his memory returns, he remembers that he insisted on choosing her seat, the only seat ...

Danny Scheinmann graduated in Law from both the London School of Economics and University of Strasbourgh (France). He also obtained a degree in Theatre Studies. His acting career included A Midsummer Nights Dream for the English Shakespeare Company and an 18-month tour with the David Glass Ensemble in the Hansel Gretel Machine.

His greatest passion, however, is story-telling. "I have been passionate about story-telling for 20 years. Storytelling is the foundation of all drama. Sadly, in our culture direct, oral tradition storytelling is almost dead. We hardly have the confidence to tell our children stories without referring to books."

Random Acts of Love is Scheinmann's first novel which took him six years to complete, writing ten drafts and four or five "polishes." He has just completed the first draft of the story for film.

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.