BookBrowse Reviews Brothers by Yu Hua

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Brothers

A Novel

by Yu Hua

Brothers
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jan 2009, 656 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2010, 656 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

An epic and wildly unhinged black comedy of modern Chinese society running amok

Brothers, published as one book in English, was originally published in China as two separate books.  The first volume, published in 2005, relates Baldi Li's and Song Gang's childhoods and early adolescence growing up during China's Cultural Revolution (see sidebar).  While the style is consistent throughout the novel, the overall tone of the first book is increasingly dark, with a depth that isn't carried through to the book's second half. A pervasive sense of impending tragedy imbues much of the narrative. Yu does a remarkable job of conveying the emotional and physical devastation inflicted on China's populace as seen through the eyes of its children.

The second book (first published in 2006) picks up when the brothers are young men and follows their lives throughout the decades that follow. Yu chronicles China's reaction to and recovery from the ...

About the Author: BookBrowse has a short biography of the author but a longer profile, together with an early review of Brothers from 2006, can be found at the New York Times.


Interesting Links:

  • Though I Am Gone, a Chinese documentary (with English subtitles) about the persecution and ultimate death of a Beijing school principal, Bian Zhongyun. She was killed by female Red Guards, former students of her school, who used wooden clubs spiked with nails to beat her to death. The documentary is about one hour long and is posted on YouTube in 10 parts, the first part is available below. Perhaps, through telling the story of just one person, this documentary can provide us with a human-sized view into the horror of the Cultural Revolution.

  • Propaganda posters and songs from The Cultural Revolution.

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...
  • Book Jacket
    Find Me Unafraid
    by Kennedy Odede, Jessica Posner
    With staggering emotional weight and keen awareness of love and humanity even in the darkest places,...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.