BookBrowse Reviews The Little Giant of Aberdeen County by Tiffany Baker

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Little Giant of Aberdeen County

A Novel

by Tiffany Baker

The Little Giant of Aberdeen County
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2009, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2010, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Compulsively readable and likely to garner a lot of popular attention - sure to find its way onto book club agendas

Tiffany Baker's first novel, The Little Giant of Aberdeen County, strikes the reader as both familiar and unique. Its small-town setting and quirky characters conjure up the writings of Fanny Flagg and John Irving. Baker's voice is distinctive, however, and the book contains more than a few surprises that will keep readers entertained from start to finish. The first-person narrative style strikes the perfect tone for the novel, and Baker's prose is insightful and descriptive.

"Sometimes I think I collect souls to make up for the ones I've lost over the course of my life – the string of disappearances that started with my mother are spread outward like a crow's wing, darkening everything beneath it. Sometimes it's possible to see misfortune coming and prepare for it, I guess, but most of the time, when a person disappears, it's as unexpected ...

About the Author
Don't miss Tiffany Baker's unique take on an author biography.

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.