BookBrowse Reviews The Shadow Walker by Michael Walters

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Shadow Walker

by Michael Walters

The Shadow Walker
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Aug 2008, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Beth Hemke Shapiro

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


The first in a new mystery series set in Mongolia

Crime novels are a dime a dozen, but The Shadow Walker by Michael Walters stands apart for both its exotic setting in modern-day Mongolia and its intriguing investigator Nergui. Offering a fast-paced and dark setting, Walters, a management consultant, presents an exciting debut novel.

Throughout the book the author provides detailed descriptions of Mongolia, the resulting portrait is of an unsettled country, formerly occupied by the Soviet government and now feeling the effects of western modernization, all the while maintaining its nomadic history. Here, for example, is British police officer Drew McLeish's first glimpse of Ulan Baatar's city center:

The road widened into a brightly lit avenue, lined with a mix of official-looking buildings, many studded with communist emblems, and newer commercial offices, some with Korean, Japanese or even American ...

Gers or Yurts

The Mongolian ger (known more commonly as a yurt in the West) has been used as a home by steppe nomads for more than 2500 years and is still a common home even in urban areas.

Since nomads relocate many times over a year, it is essential that their dwellings be easily assembled and dismantled. A ger can be erected within a few hours on top of a wooden floor. While in the summer this floor remains slightly off of the ground to avoid moisture, in the winter it is constructed directly onto the soil in order to prevent drafts. The structure's support frame is made of wood with lattices forming a circular wall, with a post-and-lintel doorway always pointing toward the south. Willow rods attach to the framework and join at a wooden hoop to form the roof. The cover consists primarily of wool felt swathed with white cotton. Once inside, a basic stove ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.