BookBrowse Reviews Murder on the Eiffel Tower by Claude Izner

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Murder on the Eiffel Tower

A Mystery

by Claude Izner

Murder on the Eiffel Tower
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2008, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2009, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Beth Hemke Shapiro

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

The first volume of an amateur detective series set in 19th century Paris

Murder on the Eiffel Tower soars with its historical treatment of Paris which readers will remember long after they finish the book. Claude Izner is the pseudonym of two sisters, Liliane Korb and Laurence Lefevre, who sell second-hand books on the Seine's banks and boast of expertise on 19th century Paris. Their experience and knowledge shine brightly in this first of a series featuring amateur detective Victor Legris.

Some readers might be reminded of author Anne Perry's English Victorian detective novels as they are drawn into Izner's portrayal of Paris and its 1889 World Exposition. Like Perry, Izner interjects small, captivating tidbits about the period:

Fried-fish vendors and left-over food sellers were setting up their stalls in the wind. Dishes of beetroot sat alongside rounds of cold black pudding….The drinking dens, the low doorways in ...

Series Order:

Originally planned as a series of eight books, a comment by one of the authors on a fan-site indicates that there will be at least nine books in the Victor Legris series (the US publisher also confirms the existence of a ninth book). Eight are currently available in French (listed on the authors' website); but only four are currently available in English, of which two are available in the USA.

The bibliography below shows the UK and USA publication dates:

  • Murder On the Eiffel Tower (UK: 2007. US: 2008)
  • The Pere-Lachaise Mystery (UK: 2007),
    published in the US as The Disappearance at Pere-Lachaise (Sept 2009)
  • The Montmartre Investigation (UK: 2008)
  • The Marais Assassin (UK: 2009)

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.