BookBrowse Reviews The Garden of Evil by David Hewson

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Garden of Evil

by David Hewson

The Garden of Evil
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jul 2008, 480 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2009, 592 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A novel steeped in Roman history, and an unforgettable experience in richly atmospheric, modern-day suspense

I have a rule: I won't call a book a page-turner unless reading it causes me to miss my bus stop. Engrossed in David Hewson's latest mystery, The Garden of Evil, I missed my stop not once but twice – and that was before I was halfway through the novel. This one's a page-turner all right! It's also a top-notch, high-quality detective procedural that will appeal to readers who enjoy a literary mystery.

The plot of The Garden of Evil revolves around a 17th-century painting by Caravaggio, so understanding the artist's life and work is important to the overall plot. Happily, Hewson provides a great deal of historical detail without lecturing. In fact, the historical background is every bit as entertaining as the moments of suspense, and is one of the features that make the book such a stand-out.

Setting his novel entirely in Rome, Hewson does a wonderful job ...

About The Author & Series

Yorkshire-born, David Hewson did not travel abroad until he was 21. He was born in 1953, left school when he was seventeen to work as a cub reporter on a local newspaper and, eight years later was a staff reporter on the The Times in London covering news, business and latterly working as arts correspondent. He worked on the launch of the Independent and was a weekly columnist for the Sunday Times for a decade before giving up journalism entirely in 2005 to focus on writing fiction.

After publishing five standalone novels, Hewson introduced Detective Nic Costa of the Rome police force in A Season for the Dead (2003). This was followed by The Villa of Mysteries, The Sacred Cut, The Lizard's Bite, The Seventh Sacrament and The Garden of Evil. Lucky readers in the UK have been able to get their hands on the seventh in the series, Dante...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.