BookBrowse Reviews Curse of the Pogo Stick by Colin Cotterill

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Curse of the Pogo Stick

by Colin Cotterill

Curse of the Pogo Stick
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jul 2008, 256 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2009, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Vy Armour

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

A quick scan of the chapter titles is your first clue that this is not your usual whodunit

After reading this charming story I must agree with the reviewer for Deadly Pleasures Mystery Magazine who writes, "Who ever thought a mystery set in 1970's Laos could be so delightful?"

When Dr. Siri is forced to leave his coroner's office for a road trip with the Justice Department, he is ambushed on a deserted jungle trail and kidnapped by Hmong insurgents. They believe Siri has the power to exorcise the village demon who they think is residing as an unborn child in the body of the respected elder's daughter.

Although Dr. Siri admits his body is a living, breathing container for a spirit named Yeh Ming, he has no clue how to perform an exorcism. He declares that he is a doctor only of scientific medicine, but agrees to try because that is his ticket to freedom. He recalls having seen an exorcism once, but thinks his ability to replicate such an...

About the Author:

Colin Cotterill was born in London, taught in Australia, the U.S., Laos and Japan. He works for UNICEF and local nongovernmental agencies to prevent child prostitution and to rehabilitate abused children. He and his wife live in Chiang Mai, Thailand, where he teaches at the university.

For a greater understanding of the man in addition to the author, a visit to his creative website reveals many facets of his character. The cartoons and childish script reflect the playfulness of his writing, but his social conscience is revealed through the projects he has taken on to provide books and scholarships for the children of Laos.

Big Brother Mouse came about after Cotterill was approached by a little Laotian girl asking for candy. He told her that candy was bad for her and that he'd buy her a book. After searching for hours he could ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.