BookBrowse Reviews The Fifth Floor by Michael Harvey

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Fifth Floor

by Michael Harvey

The Fifth Floor
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2008, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2009, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Allison Stadd

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Michael Harvey's sizzling follow-up to The Chicago Way opens with a murder in contemporary Chicago and winds its way back to Mrs. O'Leary's cow and the Great Chicago Fire of 1871

Readers will be surprised to find that this is only the second novel published by Michael Harvey. His prose clever and biting, his plot churning with twists and loops that keep the pages flipping by, Harvey's modern day thriller truly keeps readers on the edges of their seats. The mystery of the 1871 Chicago fire is stirring enough to pique the interest of even the least historically inclined person; Harvey here manages, through obviously comprehensive research and personal thought and reflection on the subject, to fan even such ages-old flames until the narrative is ablaze with energy and suspense.

No part of the book feels unrealistic, a bold evaluation considering the breadth of drama protagonist Michael Kelly finds himself mired in: romantic turmoil, witness of two murders (one of which he becomes the suspect of), and political controversy stretching ...

About the Author
Michael Harvey is the creator, writer, and executive producer of the television series Cold Case Files, an A&E production examining the Chicago underworld so alive in The Fifth Floor. He received an Academy Award-nomination for his documentary Eyewitness, and is a former investigative reporter for CBS. He earned a law degree at Duke and a masters in journalism from Northwestern.

His first novel, The Chicago Way (2007) introduced PI Michael Kelly and it was not long before people, including his own family, were asking whether Michael Kelly was a literary version of Michael Harvey? Both Michaels are interested in classical languages (namely Latin and Greek). Moreover, while the author is not a private detective, he does have years of experience under his belt on the crime enforcement scene. Harvey also owns a bar in Chicago, The Hidden ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.