BookBrowse Reviews The Likeness by Tana French

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Likeness

A Novel

by Tana French

The Likeness
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2008, 480 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2009, 480 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Patty Magyar

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

A second psychological thriller featuring the headstrong protagonist Detective Cassie Maddox, first seen in In the Woods

To read a Tana French novel is an experience that involves understanding the heart and soul of each of her fabulously flawed characters. Her characters are endowed with major personal issues, seeming to live on the outskirts of society's mandates due to life crises that have changed and damaged them irrevocably. Cassie Maddox, the main character in The Likeness, is complex and disturbed. She travels from one turbulent life event to another without any time to mend her wounded being. She is a loner, has issues from her childhood and seems to be drawn to other similarly flawed people.

Her parents were killed when she was a small child so she was raised by kindly but emotionally detached relatives who provided everything she needed but familial love. She became involved with an extremely...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.