BookBrowse Reviews The House on Fortune Street by Margot Livesey

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The House on Fortune Street

A Novel

by Margot Livesey

The House on Fortune Street
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2008, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2009, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lesa Holstine

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Livesey explores the role of luck through four interlocking narratives

Abigail and Dara both experienced life-changing events when they were ten years old. One woman gets on with her life; the other continues to look for answers to her past. The question that Margot Livesey asks is what happens when two women, each with a difficult childhood, become friends and how will that friendship accommodate the ups and downs of romantic love? How does childhood trauma affect people?

As the reader follows Abigail and Dara through life, it's fascinating to see the effects of those early events. Is it luck or fate that brings Dara together with Edward, a musician, and Abigail together with Sean, a Ph.D. candidate? Livesey complicates the question by suggesting that we make our own luck, both good and bad, through our choices, but the effects of those choices are rarely ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.