BookBrowse Reviews A Fraction of the Whole by Steve Toltz

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Fraction of the Whole

by Steve Toltz

A Fraction of the Whole
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2008, 544 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2008, 576 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Amy Reading

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


An uproarious indictment of the modern world and its mores. 1st novel

Martin Dean feels "like a few misplaced molecules cobbled together to form an implausible person." When asked to describe himself, he comes up with "a seer of limited epiphanies" and "a megalomaniac and an underachiever." He is Steve Toltz's growling philosopher king, ferociously pessimistic yet irredeemably idealistic, his head a gaseous stew of misanthropy and ridiculous ideas for societal transformation. The "long inglorious tumult in his head" lands him in a mental hospital. It also spurs him to run for the Senate and win on the promise to turn Australia into the "first truly death-based society." Toltz can barely rein him in.

The story is supposed to be narrated by Martin's son, Jasper, but Martin keeps breaking in. That pretty much sums up the tension that fuels the novel's mostly breakneck pace through 530 pages. A Fraction of the Whole is Jasper's ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.