BookBrowse Reviews Charlatan by Pope Brock

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Charlatan

America's Most Dangerous Huckster, the Man Who Pursued Him, and the Age of Flimflam

by Pope Brock

Charlatan
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2008, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2009, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Amy Reading

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Charlatan goes down in a nice, quick gulp with an altogether pleasing sensation

A fake doctor who slices off goat testicles and inserts them into the scrotums of men looking to restore their desiccated virility? A fake doctor who grows fabulously wealthy from the hordes lined up outside his door, despite the fact that his surgery causes blood poisoning, loss of limbs, and even death? Preposterous! If Charlatan were a novel, it would be a satire. If it were a play, it would be a farce. But it is history, and we must ruefully own up to it as our legacy. If we try to tell ourselves that nowadays we are far too enlightened to succumb to such quackery, we are as fraudulent as the "surgical swami" himself. After all, how different are Botox injections, the same toxin that causes botulism, from goat glands? John Brinkley's story promises to tell us much about the modern confection of advanced knowingness and undaunted gullibility, not to mention our ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.